South KY RECC announces new President/CEO

South Kentucky RECC is pleased to announce the appointment of Kevin Newton as President and Chief Executive Officer, effective immediately.

Newton has been a dedicated member of South Kentucky RECC’s team for more than 30 years, serving in various leadership roles, including most recently acting as both Interim Chief Executive Officer and Chief Operating Officer.

The decision to make Kevin Newton the permanent CEO reflects the confidence of SKRECC’s Board of Directors in his ability to drive the co-op forward and build upon the strong foundation laid during his tenure.

“We are thrilled to officially welcome Kevin Newton as our President and CEO,” said Cathy Epperson, SKRECC’s Board Chairperson. “He has proven instrumental in South Kentucky’s success, and we are excited about the direction he will take us in the coming years,” Epperson added.

During his tenure as Interim CEO, Newton has demonstrated exceptional leadership, strategic vision, and a strong dedication to the cooperatives’ principles and values. His deep knowledge of South Kentucky’s operations and his commitment to serving its members make him the ideal choice to lead the co-op.

“I am deeply honored and excited to lead South Kentucky RECC as its President and CEO,” said Kevin Newton. “I am committed to building upon the progress we have made and am excited about the opportunities ahead. Together we will continue with the co-op’s mission of providing safe, reliable and affordable power to our members.”

Newton assumed the leadership role as Interim CEO with South Kentucky RECC following the resignation of former CEO Ken Simmons, who had served the co-op as CEO since 2020, and announced his resignation from the co-op last fall to return to his home state of Georgia to serve as CEO of an electric cooperative there.

The official announcement comes after a thorough search and careful consideration, culminating in the decision to appoint Newton permanently.

About South Kentucky RECC:

South Kentucky Rural Electric Cooperative Corporation (“South Kentucky”) is an electric distribution cooperative providing approximately 70,000 meters with retail electric power in eleven Kentucky and two Tennessee counties.  South Kentucky was formed as a non-profit rural electric cooperative corporation in 1938 and is owned solely by its retail electric customers.  South Kentucky is governed by a Board of Directors comprised of seven individuals representing an equal number of districts within its service territory.